Advantages of waking up early

dawn.jpgWaking up early has innumerable benefits. Before I launch into a list of those benefits, you might want to consider the fact that almost all successful people are out of bed by 630am. So, what exactly are the benefits of waking up early?

  1. The first advantage is the extra time gained in the day. If you wake up two hours early, rather than sleeping for 8 or even 10 hours (quite a normal feat for me sometimes) you’ll gain two precious hours that you can put to use. Two extra hours might mean time to work out, meditate, cook something by yourself (which means you’ll be eating food which is more healthy and cheap — and sometimes even more tasty!), write a short story, or pursue a hobby. Wake up at 6, and even if you have a one-hour commute to work, you can fit in time for a quick workout, meditation, cooking and email– all before you’ve even reached work.
  2. Waking up early usually mean that your day gets a great start. First, you’ll be proud of yourself for waking up so early, and achieving one of your goals. You might be able to reward yourself by catching a glimpse of the sunrise, or appreciating the breaking morning sky. And usually, if your day has a great start, the rest of day follows in a similarly happy pattern. Or at least you’re in a good mood and better able to deal well with setbacks or frustrations.
  3. You get time to work on an important goal that you might not usually have time for. Many great writers used to write in the morning, before they went off to their day jobs. Nell Fredeunberger, a writer I’m very impressed by, mentions that while she was working full-time at the New Yorker Magazine, she would write out a short story in the mornings before she arrived at work. Her short stories have been published, and won prestigious awards; her second book, a novel, has also been recently published. By waking up early, you make time for yourself, and for things which are important to you, but might otherwise be crammed out of your life. Even if you choose to work at your usual job, you can get more work by the end of the day. Your personal productivity goes up, if you wake earlier.
  4. Mornings are a great time for work, since they tend to be quiet and uninterrupted. During the day, you might not be able to devote all of yourself to a pet project: you might need to keep an ear open for your phone even while you meditate, your kids might walk in clamoring for attention when you’re trying to type out witty dialogue for your screenplay. Waking up early is a great way to find a chunk of peaceful, productive time. Once again, even if you choose to do some “regular” work in this time, you’ll be much more productive than  you would normally be during the day, when coworkers and bosses would demand your time every few minutes, as well as your spouse on the phone and friends on IM. In the morning, you won’t be exhausted from work or burdened with worries, so it’s easier to get work done faster, too.
  5. Waking early allows you to actually have breakfast. Many people are used to skipping breakfast, and may think that breakfast isn’t such a big deal. But once you start waking early and having the time to have a nutritious and healthy breakfast, you’ll notice what an energy boost it is, and how much more alert you seem throughout the day.
  6. Finally, waking early means that early appointments are easier to meet and will be more productive. Whether it’s a class, or a client, if you wake early you won’t need to be groggy and half-alert. Class attendance has been proven to have a strong positive correlation with grades, and if you can meet a client before your competitors, or even before he gets to his other work, you will have a strong competitive advantage. 

Many people mistakenly believe that they’re night owls and that waking early has no real benefit for them. This is a rather widely-held misconception. Anyone can wake up early, once they’ve gotten used to it. It’s true that the first few days of suddenly waking up early are likely to be difficult, but once the routine is set, it’s not that difficult. And being a night owl is not really that productive, it just mistakenly seems that way– a fact that becomes evident once you’re used to the habit of starting your day early.

If you’re already an early riser, congratulations! Waking up early is a difficult habit to establish, and as difficult to re-establish once you lapse. In the next post I’ll mention my tips for how to actually get out of bed, at an hour that might initially seem quite ungodly. Of course, those’ll only help you if you’re convinced by the advantages.

If you disagree, or if you have any additional ideas that you’d like to mention, I would love to hear from you.

Picture credits: “Hogback dawn” by mike_ormsby

33 Responses to Advantages of waking up early

  1. B says:

    Many people who call themselves night owls probably arn’t.. but some .. its natures fault. I just blame my circadian rhythm, but my doctor thinks I have that late riser gene. Of course, everyone calls it a mutation.. but I personal think its a leftover from when people lived in caves. It made sense back then of course.

    Today though, the problem is all the extra stimulation people get. I think allot of people are just over stimulated and can’t sleep. But thats my opinion.

    My normal schedule for sleeping is from 8 AM till 4 PM, give or take some minutes. Thats only stick to what nature dealt me. I did learn to adjust to being awake during the day, and getting up early too. I never did manage to become more productive of alert. I do believe your right about most people. It would be nice if you remember that some people really do work better at night because their hormones and genes. Its natured fault in many cases, not always ours.

    Regards

  2. smokey says:

    i should do that thaks for the article

  3. Stephen says:

    I will often wake early, have breakfast and then begin work. The downturn is that I then become tired towards the end of the day.

    So my day has developed so that if I get up early I might have a break of an hour and half during the midday. Then I can work until quite late into the evening.

    However, such a process normally happens when I am working on a project. Once the project is over then I lapse into late mornings again.

  4. sarath says:

    how to manage myself to get up from bed , early? its real big task suggest me how can i do it……

  5. Sean says:

    I am writing an essay about waking up early and waking up late. I am in total agreement with you. I am almost a morning person.

  6. akhil says:

    I will often wake early, have breakfast and then begin work. The downturn is that I then become tired towards the end of the day.

    So my day has developed so that if I get up early I might have a break of an hour and half during the midday. Then I can work until quite late into the evening.

    However, such a process normally happens when I am working on a project. Once the project is over then I lapse into late mornings again.i should do that thaks for the article

  7. What is the flourishing time for me to get up?

  8. Kyle Watson says:

    hi. this website was not helpful at all. there was no useful information at all. i work for the C.I.A. and i am not happy at all. u will be speaking to my lawyers.

  9. Riz says:

    Early to bed early to rise;
    makes a man healthy, wealthy and wise!!!

    I am more than 100% agreed with the writer and, without a least fear of doubt, it worked…I observed what written by writer!!!

  10. […] more about this topic on ‘Happiness and Success’ or ‘Looking for my […]

  11. Hi,

    I really like this blog entry.

    Therefore I just quoted you on my blog about rising early and linked to this.

    Check it out on http://stefaniesoehnchen.wordpress.com/2011/03/15/the-early-bird-catches-the-worm-how-to-rise-early-and-why.

  12. ghassab hajaya says:

    Thank God that created me a Muslim. And imposing to do early in the every day before sunrise to pray.

  13. I’m one of those who used to wake up late in the morning and joining the league of sleep-deprived “warriors”, trying to slog through the day to little to no significant results done by the end of the work day.

    Gotta say that waking up earlier sure does help (I’m now back in school, so it’s no longer an option to wake up late), like #2 in this post, waking up earlier sure does make the new day a greater one! 🙂

    I’ve written a similar post on one of my minisites, referenced below – cheers!

    Related: 7 Benefits For Waking Up Earlier

  14. javid ahmad says:

    it is 100% right to get up early in the mrng……it has lot of benefits…….u will save ur time for other activities such as nimaz yoga etc

  15. I just want to say thanks for the article I got up this morning at 6:30 and I feel tired and groggy still and it is now 704. But I couldn’t go back to sleep and even tried to. On the week days I usually get up at 7 eat breakfast then go to school. I am tired by the end of the day but at least during the hours of 8 to 10 pm I feel pretty good. I think that waking up early does give you a lot of advantages sense during the evening or lunch time would be an awful time to rise. Well have a great day or night which ever it is that your reading this.

  16. how to get to sleep, sleeping problems, sleep insomnia, sleep…

    […]Advantages of waking up early « Happiness and Success[…]…

  17. Anonymous says:

    These are crappy reasons.

  18. Chayvoe says:

    The early bird gets the worm……………..

  19. notebooksandteacups says:

    Your comment about a nightowl’s (lack of) productivity being put into perspective once that same individual attempts to get the same work done early in the morning could not be more true. I know because I’ve lived it! Great post!

  20. Ethan Thane says:

    Great Article. waking up early is such an easy way to improve your time. I struggled getting up in the morning (normally a night hawk), but had success by turning it into a challenge. Here are my results:

    http://keystooptimalliving.com/6-am-challenge-the-benefits-of-waking-up-early/

  21. muscle gym says:

    muscle gym

    Advantages of waking up early | Happiness and Success

  22. Ron says:

    Very great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and
    wished to say that I have truly enjoyed surfing
    around your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing on your rss feed and I
    hope you write again soon!

  23. Anonymous says:

    Waste

  24. Anonymous says:

    i didn’t like it

  25. sanjana says:

    Hmm…. i am a early riser but on weakends i become a night owl….☺😆

  26. Anonymous says:

    we need in urdu

  27. sex of facebook

    Advantages of waking up early | Happiness and Success

  28. Ghn says:

    Hhnmdm
    Hhsnenw
    Jjdnnsn
    VvbdDnnsn. Bs. Bbnsnnsnn

  29. […] will help you to feel more focused throughout the day. By the time you leave for work or school, you would’ve  done more than most people. You will have a clear mind and you will be ready for whatever challenges you might face in your […]

Leave a comment